fbpx
RU EN PL UK

Holy Assumption Svyatogorsk Lavra

On the picturesque bank of the river. Seversky Donets, among the Cretaceous mountains covered with dense forest, there is an ancient monastic monastery - Svyatogorsky Dormition Monastery.

The Svyato-Uspenskaya Svyatogorsk Lavra is one of the three most important Orthodox shrines of Ukraine. The monastery was founded in the 13th century. on the high chalky shore of the Seversky Donets. The first written mention of the area "Holy Mountains" refers to 1526, and officially the monastery was founded in 1624, when Tsar Mikhail Fedorovich granted the brothers of the Svyatogorye land and appointed state salaries.

Initially, the monks settled in caves on the Cretaceous spurs. The whole mountain is permeated with a labyrinth of courses and cells (open to the public). The summit is crowned by the Church of St. Nicholas (XVII century.), The altar part of which is carved right in the rock. At the foot is the Assumption Cathedral (1859-61), the hotel (1877), the abbot's house (1900), the refectory with the Intercession Church (1847-51), the towers of the monastery walls. In the caves there are the underground churches of Anthony and Theodosius (XVII century), the Nativity of John the Baptist (XIX century), the cave chapel, the two tombs, the cells.

In the Svyatogorsk Lavra there were I. Repin, I. Bunin, A. Chekhov, etc. In 1922 the monastery was closed, the premises were looted, and a rest house was opened on the territory. From 1992 to 2003 continued the return of residential and business premises in the management of the restored monastery. In 2004, he was given the status of laurels.

In the Gostiny Dvor there is a historical museum of the Svyatogorsk historical and cultural reserve. In parallel, there is a monastery museum of the monastery's history. The visit to the monastery is strictly regulated, the Cossack guards follow the order closely.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!

fbpx
RU EN PL UK

Свято-Успенская Святогорская Лавра

На живописном берегу р. Северского Донца, среди меловых гор, покрытых густым лесом, расположилась древняя иноческая обитель – Святогорский Успенский монастырь.

Свято-Успенская Святогорская лавра - одна из трех важнейших православных святынь Украины. Монастырь основан в XIII в. на высоком меловом берегу Северского Донца. Первое письменное упоминание о местности "Святые горы" относится к 1526 г., а официально монастырь основан в 1624 г., когда царь Михаил Федорович пожаловал братии земли Святогорья и назначил государственное жалование.

Первоначально монахи селились в пещерах на меловых отрогах. Вся гора пронизана лабиринтом ходов и келий (открыты для посещения). Вершину венчает Николаевская церковь (XVII в.), алтарная часть которой вырезана прямо в скале. У подножия находится Успенский собор (1859-61 г.), гостиница (1877 г.), дом настоятеля (1900 г.), трапезная с Покровской церковью (1847-51 гг.), башни монастырских стен. В пещерах - подземные церкви Антония и Феодосия (XVII в.), Рождества Иоанна Предтечи (XIX в.), пещерная часовня, две усыпальницы, кельи.

В Святогорской лавре бывали И. Репин, И. Бунин, А. Чехов и др. В 1922 г. обитель была закрыта, помещения разграблены, на территории открыт дом отдыха. С 1992 по 2003 гг. продолжалось возвращение жилых и хозяйственных помещений в ведение возрожденного монастыря. В 2004 г. ему присвоен статус лавры.

В Гостином дворе находится исторический музей Святогорского историко-культурного заповедника. Параллельно работает монастырский музей истории обители. Посещение монастыря строго регламентировано, за порядком следят охранники-казаки.

Хотите быть в курсе всех новостей и не пропустить интересные туры?

Подпишись на рассылку и узнаешь первым о наших предложениях!