fbpx
RU EN PL UK

Berdichev

Berdichev is a regional center in the Zhytomyr region, once a Polish-Jewish town with churches, monasteries, the grave of the Jewish tzadik and other sights that have survived since that time.

In the past, Berdichev was a kind of Jewish capital, there were numerous fairs of merchants and artisans of the Jewish descent. In Berdichev, one of the spiritual leaders of the Chassids, tsadik Levi Yitzhak Berdichevsky, lived and was buried.

In addition to his grave, another important attraction of Berdichev is the church of St. Barbara. He was famous for the fact that in 1850 the French writer Honore de Balzac and his beloved, the Polish landowner Evelina Ghanskaya, were married.

Near the Catholic church stands Saint Nicholas Cathedral - the largest Orthodox temple of Berdichev, and on the Cathedral Square there is the Carmelite Monastery of the XVI-XVIII centuries, where the icon of the Berdichevskaya Mother of God is kept, or rather the copy of the destroyed icon.

On the territory of the monastery there is also the Berdichevsky Historical Museum, in which exhibits related to the life of the Jewish community and the fascist occupation of Berdichev are of particular interest.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!

RU EN PL UK

Бердичев

Бердичев - районный центр в Житомирской области, некогда польско-еврейский городок с сохранившимися с тех времен костёлами, церквями, монастырями, могилой еврейского цадика и другими достопримечательностями.

В прошлом Бердичев был своеобразной еврейской столицей, здесь проводиились многочисленные ярмарки купцов и ремесленников еврейского присхождения. В Бердичеве жил и похоронен один из духовных лидеров хасидов цадик Леви Ицхак Бердичевский.

Кроме его могилы, еще одной важной достопримечательностью Бердичева является костел Святой Варвары. Прославился он тем, что в нем в 1850 году венчались французский писатель Оноре де Бальзак и его возлюбленная, польская помещица Эвелина Ганская.

Рядом с католическим костёлом возвышается Свято-Николаевский собор – самый крупный православный храм Бердичева, а на Соборной площади находится Монастырь кармелитов XVI-XVIII веков, где хранится икона Бердичевской Божьей Матери, а точнее копия уничтоженной иконы.

На территории монастыря расположился и Бердичевский Исторический музей, в котором особый интерес представляют экспонаты, связанные с жизнью еврейской общины и фашистской оккупацией Бердичева.

Хотите быть в курсе всех новостей и не пропустить интересные туры?

Подпишись на рассылку и узнаешь первым о наших предложениях!