fbpx
RU EN PL UK

Borislav

The modern Borislav is a small town in Lviv region, where annually 4% of Ukrainian oil is mined. But not everyone knows that about 100 years ago, they extracted 5% of the world's oil!
At the beginning of the XIX century, oil was not of any value: it was greased with wagons and hoes from rust, veterinarians were treating her sheep. Therefore, in Orel, Ozokerite deposits, which were used for the production of candles, wire insulation and for medical purposes, were considered more valuable.

When in the middle of the XIX century Lviv pharmacist Jan Zeg invented a method for purifying black gold and oil began to be used in kerosene lamps, the price for it instantly increased. And since then in Borislav began a real oil rush.

In a few years, 75 large and about 800 small enterprises from all over Europe and the world have already worked on oil production here. For example, the Canadian McGarvey earned a fantastic sum of 1 million 600 thousand crowns for the year. And one of the legends says that even the young Rockefeller came here.

In Borislav, the railway was built, after 3 a year after it appeared in Kiev. Approaching the city, you could feel the sharp smell of oil. Only the well "Oil City" daily from the depth of 1 kilometer gave 3 000 tons of oil.

In 1909, nearly 2 million tons of oil was extracted from the Ukrainian bowels - actually those 5% of world production. Subsequently, Borislav lost the lead in the production of black gold to the United States, Russia, Romania.

And in our time the oil sheiks live mainly in the Middle East.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!

Борислав

Современный Борислав — это небольшой городок Львовской области, где добывают ежегодно 4% украинской нефти. Но не все знаюь, что около 100 лет назад здесь добывали 5% всей нефти мира!
В начале XIX века нефть еще не представляла никакой ценности: ею смазывали повозки и мотыги от ржавчины, ветеринары лечили ею овец. Поэтому и в Бориславе более ценными считали месторождения озокерита, который использовали для производства свечей, изоляции проводов и в медицинских целях.

Когда в середине XIX века львовский аптекарь Ян Зег изобрел метод очистки черного золота и нефть начали использовать в керосиновых лампах, цена на нее мгновенно выросла. И с тех пор в Бориславе началась самая настоящая нефтяная лихорадка.

Через несколько лет над нефтяной добычей здесь уже работало 75 крупных и около 800 малых предприятий со всей Европы и мира. Например, канадец Макгарви заработал тут за год фантастическую по тем временам сумму 1 миллион 600 тысяч крон. А одна из легенд утверждает, что сюда приезжал даже молодой Рокфеллер.

В Борислав провели железную дорогу, спустя 3 года после того, как она появилась в Киеве. Подъезжая к городу, можно было почувствовать резкий запах нефти. Одна только скважина "Ойл-сити" ежесуточно с глубины 1 километр отдавала 3 000 тонн нефти.

В 1909 году из украинских недр было добыто почти 2 миллиона тонн нефти — собственно именно те 5% мирового производства. Впоследствии Борислав уступил первенство в добыче черного золота Соединенным Штатам, России, Румынии.

А в наше время нефтяные шейхи обитают в основном на Ближнем Востоке.

Хотите быть в курсе всех новостей и не пропустить интересные туры?

Подпишись на рассылку и узнаешь первым о наших предложениях!