RU EN PL UK

Bakota

Bakot - a flooded village in the Kamenets-Podolsky district of the Khmelnytsky region. The area, where once lived about two thousand people, now strikes with magical landscapes, mysterious finds and a unique rock monastery. And here you can admire the Dniester reservoir and drink healing water from a local source.

What happened to a large village known since the 13th century? In 1981, during the construction of the Dniester hydroelectric power station, the village completely went under water and only chronicle mentions and a rock monastery were left from it.

In the translation, the word "Bakota" means "a desired place". And indeed, everyone who comes here can be convinced of this. The first thing that attracts in Bakot is landscapes. Narrow pathways, a pretty water reservoir, steep slopes, pure spring water and a monastery.

According to legend, the Bakotsky Monastery was founded by the Monk Anthony - the founder of the Anthony caves in Chernigov and the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra. Until now, of all the cells and tombs, only a few caves have been preserved, one of which houses the old church.

On holidays, here and nowadays, divine services are held, to which residents come from all around. And not far from this cave on the southern wall of the monastery you can find an old inscription "Bless Christ the Gregory Abbot, who gave power to Saint Michael." Researchers date these lines XI century.

Do you want to keep abreast of all the news and not miss interesting tours?

Subscribe to the newsletter and you will be the first to know about our offers!

RU EN PL UK

Бакота

Бакота – затопленное село в Каменец-Подольском районе Хмельницкой области. Местность, где когда-то жили около двух тысяч человек, сейчас поражает волшебными пейзажами, загадочными находками и уникальным скальным монастырем. А еще именно здесь вы можете полюбоваться Днестровским водохранилищем и испить целебной воды из местного источника.

Что же произошло с известным еще с XIII века крупным селением? В 1981 году в ходе строительства Днестровской ГЭС село полностьюушло под воду и от него остались лишь летописные упоминания и скальный монастырь.

В переводе слово «Бакота» означает «желанное место». И действительно, каждый, кто сюда попадает, может в этом убедиться. Первое, что привлекает в Бакоте – это пейзажи. Узкие тропинки, миловидное водохранилище, крутые склоны, чистая родниковая вода и монастырь.

По легенде, Бакотский монастырь основал преподобный Антоний - основатель Антониевых пещер в Чернигове и Киево-Печерской Лавры. До наших дней из всех келий и усыпальниц сохранились лишь несколько пещер, в одной из которых расположена старая церковь.

В праздничные дни здесь и в наше время проводят богослужения, на которые приходят жители со всех окрестностей. А недалеко от этой пещеры на южной стене монастыря можно найти старинную надпись «Благослови Христос Григория игумена, который дал силу святому Михаилу». Исследователи датируют эти строки XI веком.

Хотите быть в курсе всех новостей и не пропустить интересные туры?

Подпишись на рассылку и узнаешь первым о наших предложениях!